Heaven on Earth

E. A. Davis

1017027_10202177079045969_1362346091_nWhen my father was alive and I was still a very young girl, we would go to the Mississippi river. In Saint Louis, there are no beaches or oceans, so that is the closest that you will come. My father never looked more calm or peaceful than when we sat on the shore of the river. We watched boats and barges, the water crashing into the land, and there is a certain smell of the weeds and flowers around the river. His eyes would just seem to glaze over as he stared into the distance. Like my father, I am a very high strung, overstressed individual, but if you put me in a place with a large body of water, that melts away. Almost nothing else matters because it is my peace, my serenity, my “happy place,” if you will.

So being here at Cocoa Beach, FL was exactly what…

View original post 361 more words

Leave a Reply

