Am I a social misfit?

Nice to read a humorous article about not fitting in
http://vanessa-chapman.com/2011/08/07/am-i-a-social-misfit/

Vanessa-Jane Chapman

Man with pigeons

Am I a social misfit? I’m beginning to wonder if I am. Let’s look at the evidence:

1) Parties. Everyone loves a party right? Not me. Well I love the idea of them. I buy into the hype. A party! Woohoo! Yay! Count me in! But the reality is a bit different. I’m using the word ‘party’ here to refer to any large social gathering, be it work related or personal. I’m not a mingler. I don’t mingle. People at parties should mingle. But I just like to stick with someone I know and like, in one spot, the whole time. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not anti-social, if someone talks to me in a social setting, then I will be perfectly pleasant and engage appropriately with the conversation, I might even be funny and sparkling, but I just can’t be the one to start the conversation. I feel awkward…

View original post 811 more words

Leave a Reply

